#Can2020 Conference

find out more

What kind of Canada do you want in 2020?

That is the guiding question behind our major policy conference happening on October 2nd and 3rd of this year.
Join us in Ottawa as we will tackle the big, forward-looking questions of our time. By 2020, what do we want to accomplish as a nation? What areas of progress are important to us? And where do we want to be on the world stage?

Online Registration is now closed! You can purchase a conference pass at the gate starting Wednesday, October 1st at 2 PM.

Click for photo & video

View Agenda
Download as PDF

Right now, Canada is at an inflection point: the marketplace for ideas is open, and our policy community needs new ways to grow our economy, strike a balance between energy and the environment, rebuild healthy, sustainable communities and navigate complex, 21st century challenges like privacy and international security.

The #Can2020 Conference is our opportunity to set in motion the idea-generation process that will carry Canada into a new decade. Together with the Center for American Progress’ Global Progress Initiative, we invite you to hear some of the world’s most influential thinkers, organizers, policy developers and business leaders.

Your conference pass includes access to all of the sessions during the two-day event (panels, breakouts, keynote speeches), a delegate kit, two lunches, and exclusive access to multiple networking receptions and socials throughout the conference.

Featured Participants

  • Andrew Coyne
    Columnist, Postmedia Bio
  • Anne Johnson
    Executive Director, Generation Progress Bio
  • Ben Fuller
    Director, Business Development, CIVIS Analytics Bio
  • Brenda Kenny
    President & CEO, Canadian Energy Pipeline Association Bio
  • Bruce Anderson
    Anderson Insight Bio
  • Bryan Whitaker
    Chief Operating Officer, NGP VAN Bio
  • Chantal Hébert OC @en
  • Craig Oliver
    Chief Political Correspondent and Co-Host of CTV's Question Period, CTV News Bio
  • David A. Dodge OC
    Senior Advisor, Bennett Jones LLP Bio
  • David Herle LL.B. @en
  • David McLaughlin
    Faculty of Environment, University of Waterloo Bio
  • Diana Carney
    Director of Strategy and Engagement, IPPR Bio
  • Don Iveson
    Mayor of Edmonton Bio
  • Don Lenihan
    Senior Associate, Canada 2020 Bio
  • Elisabeth Jacobs
    Senior Director for Policy and Academic Programs, Washington Center for Equitable Growth Bio
  • Fen Olser Hampson
    Chancellor’s professor at Carleton University Bio
  • Frank Graves
    President, EKOS Research Bio
  • Giles Gherson
    Government of Ontario Bio
  • H.E. Louise Hand PSM
    Australian High Commissioner to Canada Bio
  • Heather Boushey
    Executive Director and Chief Economist, Washington Center for Equitable Growth Bio
  • Hon. Anne McLellan
    Senior Advisor, Bennett Jones Bio
  • Hon. Bill Morneau
    Minister of Finance Bio
  • Hon. Jason Kenney PC MP
    Minister of Employment and Social Development and Minister for Multiculturalism Bio
  • Hon. Jean Charest PC
    Partner, McCarthy Tétrault LLP Bio
  • Hon. John Manley PC OC
    President & CEO, Canadian Council of Chief Executives Bio
  • Hon. Kathleen Wynne MPP
    Premier of Ontario Bio
  • Hon. Monte Solberg PC
    Principal, New West Public Affairs Bio
  • Hon. Perrin Beatty PC
    President & CEO, Canadian Chamber of Commerce Bio
  • Hon. Stockwell Day PC
    Strategic Advisor, McMillan LLP Bio
  • Ian Bremmer
    President & Founder, EURASIA Group Bio
  • J. Robert S. Prichard
    Chair, Metrolinx Bio
  • Jaime Watt
    Executive Chairman, Navigator Ltd. Bio
  • Jean-Marc Fournier MNA
    Minister responsible for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and the Canadian Francophonie Bio
  • Jennifer Ditchburn
    Senior Parliamentary Correspondent, The Canadian Press Bio
  • Jennifer Keesmaat
    Chief Planner, City of Toronto Bio
  • Jim Watson
    Mayor of Ottawa Bio
  • Joe Natale
    President and CEO, Telus
  • John Brodhead
    Executive Director, Evergreen CityWorks Bio
  • John Geddes
    Ottawa Bureau Chief, Maclean's Magazine Bio
  • John Ivison
    Columnist, National Post Bio
  • Karen Neuman
    US Department of Homeland Security Bio
  • Kathleen Monk
    Principal, Earnscliffe Strategy Group Bio
  • Lauren Skelly
    Senior Policy Analyst, Google Bio
  • Lord Stewart Wood
    The Lord Wood of Anfield, Labour Party Bio
  • Mark Cameron
    Senior Vice President & Deputy Energy Leader, Hill + Knowlton Strategies Bio
  • Matt Browne
    Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress Bio
  • Matthew Mendelsohn
    Director Mowat Centre Bio
  • Miles Corak
    University of Ottawa Bio
  • Paul Boothe
    Professor of Business, Economics and Public Policy, Richard Ivey School of Business, University of Western Ontario Bio
  • Paul Wells
    National Affairs Columnist, Toronto Star Bio
  • R. H. Justin Trudeau P.C. M.P.
    Prime Minister of Canada Bio
  • R.H. David Miliband
    President & CEO, International Rescue Committee Bio
  • Rosemary Sparks
    Executive Director, BuildForce Canada Bio
  • Ryan Adam
    Director, Government Relations, Government of Alberta Bio
  • Sean McGarvey
    President, North America’s Building Construction & Trades Union Bio
  • Susan Delacourt
    Senior Writer, Toronto Star Bio
  • Tonda MacCharles
    Reporter, Toronto Star Bio
  • Vikram Singh
    Vice President, National Security and International Policy, Center for American Progress Bio
  • Will Marshall
    President & Founder, Progressive Policy Institute Bio

VenueOttawa Convention Centre, 55 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario CA